Sophy’s world of art: cribs edition.

I’ve had a couple of questions about what types of tools I use to create my illustrations and how I’ve set up my workstation, so I thought I’d show you my desk and stuff today. It’s nothing special, but I hope that you’ll enjoy it and perhaps blog about your workstation as well. If you do, please let me know in the comments below, I’d be happy to check it out!

Okay, so here’s an overview of my desk. I have a tiltable one from Ikea with a built in light table. It’s very ergonomic and makes my job a lot easier. My computer is a Macbook Pro from Apple and I use a Wacom Intous 3 when I work in Photoshop or Illustrator. My beloved scanner is another essential part of my tools (thanks daddy, I love you! <3)

   

On a table next to my desk I have all my pens, colours and papers. I have a ton of them and I would lie if I said that I use them all. But I like them. I also have my little green man to keep my brushes in and a couple of small Super Mario boxes containing erasers and other useful stuff for when I travel. On the wall behind it I have decorated with a couple of my sketches. I think it serves as inspiration for my work as well as just being pretty.

      

When I sketch, I like to use paper and pencils. I use different thickness for different purposes, but usually I begin sketching with a 0.3 pencil and work my way up. The brand of my ink pens varies depending on what I can afford at the moment, except for the Gel-Tec-c4 Pilot pen in 0.4, which I use for pretty much all my ink illustrations. The other ink pens are for inking illustrations before continuing working on them in Photoshop. For those who follow my blog, my love for watercolour could hardly come as a surprise. I use basic gouache colours for the most part, but sometimes I use aquarelle colours for a more transparent finish.  Also worth mentioning are my beloved Promarkes, which I use to make even colour surfaces as well as sketching. If you haven’t tried them, you should.

This is pretty much all I use on a daily basis to make illustrations. I hope you enjoyed the tour.