Portfolio Challenge #1: Under water.

After a week of absence, I’m finally done with my first piece from Katy Ferrel’s Portfolio Challenge. This is the first one on the list; a scene from a nightmare I had. I had so much fun doing this, and I can’t wait to dig into the next one. I’ll let you know which’ll be the next as soon as I’ve decided.

My first idea looked nothing like the finished result. I wanted to create a quite eerie but serene scene, but after trying to make this poor little girl look like she was dancing in water I gave up that idea. It just didn’t look like the way I wanted it to look. So I took a different direction, and decided that I wanted to do something a tad more dramatic, and nothing says dramatic like a extreme perspective. After that was settled, everything just went smoothly and I posted my finished inked sketch a while ago.

However, I ran into problems when I started to colour it. I knew I wanted to create a sort of cartoony style, but it just didn’t seem to work out at all. Everything I tried looked like sh*t and had that Photoshopped airbrushed feeling to it. Something had to be done.

I really took a deep dive into the world of comics and identified a couple of features that really add to the comic book feeling; sharp edges in colours and a fair amount of hightlights and lowlights. I mimicked the style by using the lasso tool and a brush with no hardness, low opacity and low flow. By using this, you can create a really controlled colouring while making the colours smooth with a fading effect.

Here’s the finished result.

Under water. Ink and Photoshop.